While working on a different piece, I made two series of quarter-square triangles blocks. I didn’t want to discard the set that was deemed unsuitable, so they became the centre of this quilt.

The two sets of quarter-square blocks 2.5″. The lower set was used in a different project.

The colours are old-fashioned and some are no doubt reproduction fabrics from decades ago. Yet they appeal to me.

More small blocks created for the centre square

I wanted to use up the leftover 1/4 m strips or fat quarters, and I wanted something not too complicated. A large, single-unit log cabin block fit the bill.

Adding logs around the centre square

From the centre square I worked outwards in the traditional fashion. After a bit, I realised that the size of the pieces meant the full piece was becoming boring. Switching the dark and light sides helped and including addition quarter square blocks within the “logs”.



Too much cream in the top left

Still, there was too much blank space. Inserting an additional quarter square block in a corner made a much needed impact, but was a bit tricky.

Needing to add some interest here
Cutting the correct size hole
Inserted block – not too bad, I thought

Once the main block was about 40″ I stopped adding to the sides. This size means a single length of 42″ fabric may be used for the backing. I prefer lap or baby quilts to be approximately 40″ x 50″. Extra strips along the top and bottom, arbitrarily allocated, completed the top.

Finished top

The inserted small blocks enabled me to combine shorter pieces of fabric, as I had used up most of the full-width strips.

The traditional appearance of the quilt top meant that I could use traditional quilting. Random sorts of feathers always work for me. I find the puffy feathers are forgiving of unevenness in the backing if I haven’t basted it correctly.

Feathers quilting

I took the opportunity to experiment with placement of the feathers, making some single-sided, and spreading others across several logs.

Quilted and bound
The backing – and two left-over small blocks as a label

Personally I was satisfied with the final product. It used up several languishing fabric pieces, I practised quilting, and I found the whole effect appealing. However, given its very old fashioned appearance, I’m not sure where it will find a home.