Thank you, Cindy and Sandy. I’ve enjoyed their posts about quilting, the seasons, and other interesting tidbits.

What is the Liebster Award? I asked myself.  All the information was there with the nomination.

Water-Light

The Liebster Award 2017 is an award that exists only on the internet, and is given to bloggers by other bloggers. The earliest case of the award was in 2011. Liebster in German means sweetest, kindest, nicest, dearest, beloved, lovely, kind, pleasant, valued, cute, endearing, and welcome.

The official rules for the award can be found at the Global Aussie Website.

As nominees for this award,  I am requested to answer a few questions about myself.  Here they are:

1.) Who inspired you to quilt/sew?

My mother.  From necessity, she sewed her children’s school uniforms and regular clothes, and her own clothes.  I think she may have learnt hand sewing at school in the 1930’s but mostly she was self taught.  She passed on her can-do attitude to me, and I made my own clothes from high school through to when I was in my 40’s. At about that time, tariff laws changed in Australia and clothing could be imported without heavy taxes. Prices fell and making clothes was no longer a money saver.  Still needing (yes, needing) to do some sewing in my spare time, I turned to quilting.

2.) If you could meet one person you have never met, who would it be?

Nancy Crow – no explanation needed.

3.) What was the last movie you saw in the theater?

I tend to go to the cinema only for the special effects movies now, as home TV is so good.  I think it was Star Wars – The Force Awakens

4.) What kind of music do you like?

I’m not very good at music, tone deaf or something.  I like music with a recognisable melody.

 

5.) What is your favorite quilt/sewn project/craft?  

I love machine piecing.  I really like precision and overcoming technical difficulties (when I can).

6.) What is your favorite candy bar?

Any chocolate covered nougat, but Snickers would be a close second.

7.) Hand quilt or machine quilt?

If I’m doing it, then definitely machine, though I’m not very good. If someone else is doing it, then hand quilting.

8.) What is your favorite color?

Blue – along with 60% of the western world.

9.) What is your favorite quilting/crafting item?

Definitely my sewing machine(s), Pfaff and Bernina.

10.) Do you work on one project or many?

One or two together at most.  I know myself too well, that the oldest one will not get finished if I have too many going at once.

MY NOMINEES FOR NEW BLOGS ARE:

WA Inspired Art Quilters

Fractal Quilts

 

 

