I got a little tired of Weather Warning.  It is 80% complete, which will do for now and I will come back to finish it off soon.

In the meantime, I am working on my 2016 Shoebox Challenge from my quilting group The Quirky Quilters.  Each year we have a round robin, starting with one block and brief instructions and some fabric, swapping boxes once per month. We decided our ‘block’ would be a strip about 42″ long and any width.

I assembled a set of neutral background fabrics, some contrast feature fabrics, and prepared the starter strip.

Improv w G
My starter strip

There were a few constructed pieces that I didn’t use, so I included them in my box with the fabrics.

At our December meeting, the shoeboxes with the completed round-robin strips were revealed. I asked that my strip not be sewn together as I wanted to create a square quilt not a long rectangle.

unveiled

My strip is third from the front. My initial reaction was “What have I done?” when I saw the variety of interpretations that I must put together to make a single quilt.

