After a gentle nudge from the grandmother, I finally got around to quilting the toddler quilt that had been languishing on my top shelf for months (blush).

I stitched-in-the-ditch around the stars to give them definition – quite a lot of direction changing with the quilt as I used a domestic sewing machine – and then quilted various short sayings in cursive writing to fill the spaces around the stars, using free motion quilting. The sayings are not very profound: sweet dreams, eat play love, nap time,  be kind to your mother (never to early to give children that message).

The backing fabric is of vintage tractors.  I needed to add extra length at the top and bottom as I did not purchase enough for the quilt, it was bought months before I started the top. You can read the filler writing more easily from the back and I have flipped the pics so that it is not mirror writing.

The little boy will receive his quilt tomorrow.  I hope he likes it.

