In September 2016, I made a quilted child’s jacket to exhibit at the WA Royal Show (State Fair).  One of the categories is quilted clothing and I was keen to make a jacket in a modern style.

I made quilt-as-you-go squares, joined them with sashing and then created the pattern pieces.  The lining was attached at the same time as the sashing.  I took great care to match the zipper facing  (though not perfectly – it was very difficult) to the strips on the front of the jacket.

jacket-detail

All the fabric used was from my stash, including the orange taffeta lining ;  the only purchase was the zipper.  Even the wadding was odd scraps left over from other quilts.  I was pleased with the result and delighted when it was awarded 2nd place in the category.

As usually happens when quilting, I had a lot of extra fabric, cut into strips about 1.5″ wide.

They have been lying around in a bag in my work room and I’m tired of it.  I have decided to make a quilt in the same manner as the jacket. Quilt-as-you-go squares joined with sashing.

This time I will alternate the bright squares with some neutral strips,  left-over from the toddler quilt that I have recently finished.

