A couple of years ago I gave away a few quilts that I really loved but were ‘surplus to my needs’.

Yesterday I had lunch with friends who showed me how they had displayed their quilt.  I thought it looked great and was so pleased to see it in use and on display, not in a cupboard.

aa-bedI intended the quilt to appeal to the sensibilities of both sexes and not be overly ‘pretty’.  The solids are typical Amish colours.  I designed a simple nine-patch square-on-point style using solids – and florals, which I know the Amish would never use.  The flowers are fussy cut from a Kaffe Fasset fabric.

On the back, I used extra pieces I had cut but not used. (It is actually a straight strip, but it doesn’t look like it because I didn’t straighten the quilt up properly for the photo.)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The quilt has beautiful professional custom quilting by Kathy Costall which does not show up in the main picture.  The close-up gives a better idea.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

We had a lovely lunch with old friends and altogether was a very happy day for me.

